Finally!

After four years, one hundred and forty-seven units, a gazillion of productions, scripts and performances, buckets of tears and one thesis, this glorious and beyond awesome moment has arrived!

The path to this day is not easy. Four years in the country’s most esteemed university has taught me that my only competition is myself. It was a track of constant struggle to success and do better from my previous performance. Oftentimes, this has become a source of frustration. But it is also in UP where I found some of my sturdiest support system, aside from my family, to hold on to when the times are rough.

My fellow graduating MCOers

To UP MCO, thank you for countless wonderful times. My experience in the organization has taught me a lot that I would never learn inside the classrooms and I would never have met such awesome people. Now, I fully understand what older alumni were saying during their send-offs, MCO is truly a home I will keep coming back to. To the resident members, aim higher and do better! This is not to pressure you, but because I know you guys are capable to doing it. I love you guys!

Some of my BC batch mates (Photo c/o Camille Ventura)

To my BC batch mates, we did it! There’s no denying that we’ve been through a lot but we’ve emerged victorious. Now we face the uncertain future, but this I say, let’s not be scared to take risks because we are in the point in our lives where we have nothing to lose but everything to gain. It’s our chance to make a mark in history. Good luck to us!

With Professor Data Canlas

To all of my professors, I’ve learned a lot from you — whether these are to-dos or not-to-dos. I’m sure all of these will help me as I go into the “real world.” A special shout out to Professor Data Canlas who is my adviser (in every sense of the word). My utmost thank you.

My girls

Finally, to my girlfriends — Audrey, J-ann, Rix, Arianne, Rachel and Eunice. You’ve put up with me through the craziest times and I couldn’t thank you enough for that. We may not always be together now just like we used to in college, but I know our bond will forever be strong. I love you guys!

With the help of these people, hard work and some luck, I got a little bonus. As if wearing that sablay isn’t enough honor yet, I have to leave the University with a bling.

For being my home for the best four years of my life… Salamat Maskom. Salamat UP.

Now after four years, one hundred forty-seven units, a gazillion of productions, scripts and performances and one thesis, I can finally say that one line from that memorable CMC AVP…

Virjinia Alexis Villafuerte. Student number 2007-03867. Proud graduate ng UP Maskom.

About alexsees
"It is impossible to live without failing at something, unless you live so cautiously that you might as well not have lived at all - in which case, you fail by default." I try to live by these words of the genius that is JK Rowling.

2 Responses to Finally!

  1. alexsees says:

    Thanks! Haha.

Leave a comment