Just the right amount of “kilig”…

…and an overdose of hotness that is Mario Maurer!

The other night, I was watching “First Love/Crazy Little Thing Called Love”. It is Thai romantic comedy that claims to be “based on everyone’s true story”. Here’s the bitter reality, not everyone wins the heart of their first love while they were still in their ugly duckling phase and have a happily-ever-after ending nine years after. There might be a few exceptions to the rule, but I just want to disprove their claim that this story is based on “everyone’s true story”, because that just does not happen to everyone.

Well yeah, maybe the whole innocence and naivety of one’s first love is true. I’m sure everyone can relate to Nam, the-ugly-duckling-turned-fashion-princess protagonist of the story. Once in our lifetimes, we’ve passed by a classroom just to get a glimpse of our special someone, dialed their number and hung up when he answers, and did just about everything to get his attention. At one point in our lives, we’ve confessed our feelings to our special someones only to find out that it’s too late or he can never reciprocate the emotions. I’m sure we can remember all of that feel-good/naive things we did for love before heartbreak fucked us up real good. I mean, who could forget? It was such an experience.

Kahit na paasa yung pelikula, I enjoyed watching it just because it’s an hour and a half of Mario Maurer on my laptop screen. Even though the story’s time line went on for almost 12 years, it did not seem dragging. Tamang pang-alis lang ng stress at pangbigay GV sa mga taong pagod. And Thailand is just a beautiful place! Ang ganda nung locations ng movie, especially that one in hanging bridge! So romantic. One more thing, I love about this movie is its soundtrack. Alam mo yung kahit hindi mo naiintindihan yung lyrics, gets mo sya kasi dalang-dala ng melody yung kanta? Yeah.

And one major reason why I finished watching this film (even though I started watching it at around 2AM) is Thai-Chinese-German actor, Mario Maurer (I never thought United Nations could look this good). Others might recognize him from his portrayal of Tong in Love of Siam (2007), which I haven’t finished watching yet because it is dragging. There is nothing special about this model-actor. His acting was just okay, sakto lang para sa isang pang-kilig na pelikula. It is just that he is so yummy. I wouldn’t talk more, I’ll let you decide on your own…

Yes, people. Ngiti pa lang, busog ka na.

About alexsees
"It is impossible to live without failing at something, unless you live so cautiously that you might as well not have lived at all - in which case, you fail by default." I try to live by these words of the genius that is JK Rowling.

8 Responses to Just the right amount of “kilig”…

  1. Thanks a lot for this one. I have really been looking forward to seeing what this is all about. Now that you have given me the right urge, I have to deal with this now.

    By the way, I found your interesting blog through Ayla. Have a nice day. Keep on blogging. 🙂

    • alexsees says:

      Hi! Thanks for finding interest in my blog! HAHA! It’s a nice feel-good movie! Hope you enjoyed it!

      And nice meeting you! 🙂

  2. barrycyrus says:

    First time to drop by your blog, and look: Koreanovela! Onoboh hahahaha Peace :p

  3. 7deadlyjeans says:

    I was also pretty “distracted” with Mario Maurer when I watched LOS. Oh and honey, memo to yourself, United Nations aka United Colors of Benetton combos like Maurer are the HOTTEST THINGS EVER! This is exactly why God said: Humayo kayo at magpakarami, he knew that interracial hotness is a good thing. hahahaha

    BTW lovin’ the hatin’ on Barry hahahahaha!

Leave a comment